Moroccan Spiced Carrot Dip

Standard

 

 

 

 

Image

Image

 

 

 

Image

 

     Move over, hummus, there’s a new dip in town! This smooth and exotically flavorful carrot dip is as versatile as its bean-y cousin. It’s great with crackers (the crackers shown are gluten-free seed crackers based on a recipe from Angela), crudités (my favorite are bell pepper strips!), or used as a zippy and healthy alternative to mayo on a sandwich. It’s vibrant color makes it even more appealing and it would look great with other dips on a party platter, too.
     Okay, I’m not ready to give up my hummus addiction yet, but it’s a new year and I wanted to try something different! Also, in the absence of being ridiculously busy with school or  working a ton, I apparently get pretty bored.  I was really happy with the way this turned out. It’s also lighter in calories and fat than hummus, which is good if you are watching your weight or neglecting to watch how many loaded crackers you’ve stuffed in your mouth.

     Ready to try it out?

Moroccan Spiced Carrot Dip:

~1 lb carrots, peeled sliced, and cooked. I recommend steaming to retain the most vitamins!

~ 2-4 tablespoons cooking liquid reserved

~ 2-3 cloved garlic, coarsely chopped

~ 1/2 teaspoon hot smoked paprika (or substitute sweet)

~ 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

~ 1/4 teaspoon coriander

~ dash of crushed red pepper flakes (optional)

~ 1 tablespoon lemon juice, preferably fresh

~ 1-2 tablespoons olive oil 

~ sea salt to taste

1. Combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth. Serve cooled or at room temperature.

2. Enjoy!

About lacocinaencantada

I live, work, study, and of course cook in Portland. I find nature continuously inspiring and love verdant pacific northwest for its lush and wild charm. I love cooking, baking, drawing, painting, photography, running, yoga, and spending time with people I care about. I believe in eating real food: minimally processed, no weird additives, heavy on the fresh produce and whole grains. I also believe in eating delicious food. Healthy food should be creative, inspiring, and yes taste good! While I strive to make healthful recipes, I never sacrifice taste for "low cal" or "low fat." Everything in moderation is key! I hope to share some of my recipes and thoughts on food or heath issues here. Enjoy :)

One response »

Leave a Reply

