The Daily Grind

Standard

Both my food processor and coffee grinder have had their workout today. I, on the other hand, seem to have injured a muscle in my leg which has postponed my plans for a run. Frustrating because I have a 10 k to run in less than 2 weeks and want to be training.

Yesterday, we had sunshine and I was able to glimpse Mt. Hood! So majestic, so lovely. Today, rain is back on the menu. Instead I’m staring at Mt. Laundry.

What is a girl to do? Make Chickpea flour, Quinoa flour, Almond butter, and hummus of course…

A day in the life of my kitchen appliances:

Dried garbanzos, ready to be roasted and ground.

My jar runneth over...

I tried to do the flour in the food processor, but it turned out better in the coffee grinder. While I had the processor out, I decided to make almond butter…

Stage 1

Stage 2: Things are getting sticky

Stage 3: Smooth as buttah

… I used 2 cups almonds (raw), 1/4 cup canola oil, 3/4 teaspoon salt, cinnamon, and a little honey (~ 1 Tablespoon). The whole process took about 10 minutes.

But wait! I’m not done with that processor yet!

Hummus!

I made hummus with garlic, green, onion and parsley. It needed more tahini but I was almost out! Tahini is the secret to the best hummus ever. Roasted garlic helps also. This hummus was good, but not great, so I wont post the recipe.

The quinoa flour went unpictured but I have plans for it involving some of the other ingredients.

Enjoy your day, especially if you are lucky enough to see the sun!

Nikita

About lacocinaencantada

I live, work, study, and of course cook in Portland. I find nature continuously inspiring and love verdant pacific northwest for its lush and wild charm. I love cooking, baking, drawing, painting, photography, running, yoga, and spending time with people I care about. I believe in eating real food: minimally processed, no weird additives, heavy on the fresh produce and whole grains. I also believe in eating delicious food. Healthy food should be creative, inspiring, and yes taste good! While I strive to make healthful recipes, I never sacrifice taste for "low cal" or "low fat." Everything in moderation is key! I hope to share some of my recipes and thoughts on food or heath issues here. Enjoy :)

3 responses »

  1. I made hummus minus the tahini recently, it was delicious. I made chickpea flour first, and turned it into hummus. It was great. Your’s looked perfect, even though I couldn’t see the finished product!

  2. I do the same thing when the blender is out – I’ll decided to make hummus… then nut butter… then something else random… It’s like I think it may be another year before I pull it out again! LOL!

  3. This post made my almost eat my computer screen:) I love chickpeas so much, and almond butter is just as perfect:)

Leave a Reply

