The search for a delicious and nutritious cookie wages on…

Standard

Just another pretty chocolate cookie?

I could call these cookies “Double Chocolate Cookies” or something equally unoriginal… but the truth is, these babies are Chocolate-Chocolate chip-almond butter- chickpea flour- quinoa cookies. Vegan and gluten free. When put like that, they sound terrible don’t they? I promise they are not. They are soft and fudgey, definitely not a “crisp” cookie. They are sweet enough for dessert, but nutritious enough to be a stand alone snack or even part of a breakfast. I may have eaten 6 total today.

The fact is, I am a shameless chocolate addict and compulsive baker. This can be problematic… and by problematic I mean it can cause my pants to get too tight. My mother’s words of wisdom on staying thin : “Never buy bigger pants.”  Since walking around in public with your pants unbuttoned is seen as uncouth, I guess it’s time to explore other options. ..

Deprivation is for suckers. I want to have my cake and eat it… well 6 times. So I head to the kitchen to work some magic…

I adapted this recipe from Marla‘s Almond Chickpea Cookies but changed several things. I was really pleased with these but I think next time I will tweak them again in my quest for perfection. If it turns out better, I will post the new recipe, but these were great, too!

Chocolate-Chick(pea) Almond Cookies

1 cup chickpea flour

3/4 cup quinoa or other gluten free flour (or regular flour if you are not avoiding gluten)

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

stevia to taste if desired

1/2 cup almond butter

1 ripe banana

1/4 cup agave (or more to taste)

1/2 cup vanilla soymilk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon almond extract (optional)

1/2- 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

ground almonds, shredded coconut, or coarse sugar for rolling

Method: Preheat over to 350F. Combine almond butter, banana, agave, and extracts and beat with electric mixer. Slowly beat in the soymilk. Combine dry ingredients separately and slowly beat in. Fold in the chocolate chips. Roll in balls (about 1.5- 2 Tablespoons worth of dough) and dust with almonds, coconut, or sugar if using. Place on a baking sheet and flatten slightly. Bake 10-12 minutes.

I haven’t run the nutritional info, but these are clearly loaded with protein and fiber and low in sugar. More importantly, they’re chocolate.

Enjoy!

Nikita

About lacocinaencantada

I live, work, study, and of course cook in Portland. I find nature continuously inspiring and love verdant pacific northwest for its lush and wild charm. I love cooking, baking, drawing, painting, photography, running, yoga, and spending time with people I care about. I believe in eating real food: minimally processed, no weird additives, heavy on the fresh produce and whole grains. I also believe in eating delicious food. Healthy food should be creative, inspiring, and yes taste good! While I strive to make healthful recipes, I never sacrifice taste for "low cal" or "low fat." Everything in moderation is key! I hope to share some of my recipes and thoughts on food or heath issues here. Enjoy :)

4 responses »

  1. These look delicious! We are always looking for healhthy cookie versions! Have you been to mynewroots@blogspot.com. The blogger is amazing. She has some “healthier” and raw versions of goodies that look pretty great too! Congrats! The blog is looking wonderful. Now for that supper club…..

  2. I have been to that blog (found on your blogroll I believe) and it looks pretty amazing! As much as I love an indulgent treat every now and again, I love being able to have healthy everyday treats.
    About that supper club… What do your Saturdays usually look like? I don’t usually have any school or work obligations so that would be a good day for me. Wednesdays are good too, but I know that’s a random day for most people!

    • I could do some Saturdays! I work at the hospital almost every other Saturday, and then at the wineshop for a couple hours on some, but I’m usually free of work/school obligations!
      I agree, I love indulgent stuff ( even white flour yummies ), but I would prefer to have healthy everyday treats too! I would try these today, but we are on a pizza baking mission – so fruit for desert! I may try them tomorrow though!!

      my email: alittlepicnic@gmail.com

      Take care!

Leave a Reply

