Good to be back!

Standard

The last three weeks have been crazy. First my best friend stayed with us for a week. We went to the coast, explored downtown Portland and Chinatown, and experimented with lots of gluten free cooking. Carrot cake muffins? Complete flop. Chocolate-Peanut Butter- Banana Chip Rice Crispies? Amaaaazing! I will share the recipe and pictures soon.

A couple days after Michelle left, Andrew and I left for the Midwest for a two week long trip. The main reason for going back was for my sister’s wedding. It was a beautiful and sweet little casual affair on her budding organic farm. More on that soon… We flew into Madison (my favorite Midwest city!) hung out there for a bit, and spent a weekend in Chicago at the Bluesfest. Most of our time was spent in our hometown. My dad and his wife were kind enough to open their lovely new home to us. I always enjoy seeing my family and friends. Its comforting to feel that familiarity. But there is really no place like home, and Portland is my home now. I couldn’t be happier to be back! Today is my first day off since we arrived.

I was reallllly looking forward to finally writing another entry, but guess what? My computer wont let me open iphoto to upload my photos.  How frustrating. I wanted to use this entry to share some photos from the wedding & our trip, but clearly I will have to back track and share some photos from Michelle’s visit.

 

Michelle grating carrots for our ill fated carrot muffins...

Doing what I do...

But one of the nicest days was when we went to the Chinese Gardens…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

...

...

...

...

...

...

The Chinese Garden's also have an adorable tea house that we stopped in. Michelle had black tea, I had Oolong.

 

This is a Gaiwan, a type of serving cup for tea. The loose leaves are placed inside, hot water is poured over, and you use the lid to filter the leaves.

After the gardens we headed over to the Vegetarian House- a delightful Chinese restaurant that carries jut about any conceivable standard Chinese dish but all vegan versions. They had tofu and seitan of course, but also faux beef, chicken, even shrimp and fish! We both wanted to try the “shrimp.”

Pretty convincing looking, eh?There were these hilarious animal cartoons on the back of the menu.

 

The shrimp was only “ok,” but I am not a big fan of faux meats in general. I prefer tofu, tempeh, or beans for protein. Why did I order it then? Curiosity! Now I know.

I will try to post some of our gluten free recipes soon as well as pictures from our trip. Take care!

xo/ Nikita