Gluten Free Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

Standard

Forgetting that we were going to have more company this week ( this means going out more and eating less meals at home), I bought too many groceries. Between our CSA and my excitement about all the fresh, cheap produce available at the grocery store, I found myself with an excess of perishables. Yesterday I noticed my zucchinis were looking… well wrinkled. I had hoped to put them on a pizza or stir fry, but decided to take immediate action and turn them into muffins. Chocolate muffins, because I can’t seem to shake the desire for chocolate lately!

I came across a recipe on Elana’s site that used coconut flour- a gluten free flour that I bought on impulse and have been trying to become acquainted with.

I tweaked the recipe only slightly, and they turned out so good. They are moist (sorry to use the m word, Erica, but they are!) and yet fluffy and not too sweet. The texture is more cake like than muffin like, and I think for a more indulgent treat they would be amazing with frosting or icing, but I haven’t been wanting overly sweet things lately so I left them as is. They taste way better when cooled. I had one warm and it didn’t compare to the cooled ones.

Chocolate Zucchini Muffins:

Dry:

1/4 cup coconut flour

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Wet:

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup agave nectar

2 eggs

1 1/2 cup grated zucchini, not packed

Mix ins:

1/2 cup chocolate chips or chunks

1 tablespoon cacao nibs (optional)

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F and grease two mini muffin tins or fill with paper muffin cups.

Combine dry ingredients in medium bowl, set aside. Combine wet ingredients in large bowl, slowly beat in dry ingredients, then fold in chocolate chips. Ladle into muffin tins, using a tablespoon for each. Bake 18-22 minutes. Makes about 20.

Enjoy!

xoxo/Nikita

About lacocinaencantada

I live, work, study, and of course cook in Portland. I find nature continuously inspiring and love verdant pacific northwest for its lush and wild charm. I love cooking, baking, drawing, painting, photography, running, yoga, and spending time with people I care about. I believe in eating real food: minimally processed, no weird additives, heavy on the fresh produce and whole grains. I also believe in eating delicious food. Healthy food should be creative, inspiring, and yes taste good! While I strive to make healthful recipes, I never sacrifice taste for "low cal" or "low fat." Everything in moderation is key! I hope to share some of my recipes and thoughts on food or heath issues here. Enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

