Happy Birthday, Mom!

Standard

Today is my mother’s birthday.

Me, my older sister, my mom, and my little sister at my older sister's wedding

We have gone through good times and bad like most children do with their parents, but now that I’m older I can finally recognize how lucky I was to have such an amazing mother.

My mother is one of the hardest working and strongest women I know. She always puts others before her to nearly a fault. She is full of patience and genuine kindness. She is an NICU nurse, a crafter, an amazing cook, a breast cancer survivor, and an inspiration.

When I was growing up, she was going back to school to finish her BSN, working, and raising kids yet she always managed to keep the house clean and make 3 home cooked meals a day for us. I don’t even know how she did it. Didn’t she sleep? She even found the time to let us be kids, get messy, get creative. Playing in the dirt, sand, mud, climbing trees, making strange concoctions in the kitchen… I’m so grateful that she let us play and experiment that way. I cringe when I see mothers who wont ever let their kids have fun or get dirty.

 

Anyhow, I wont be able to see her because we live about 2200 miles apart now, but I’m sending her a little handmade gift…

You see, my mom loves squirrels. And eating peanuts (she pretty much lives on peanuts and peanut butter, I’m not exaggerating!). And feeding squirrels peanuts…

Spots it...

Goes to it...

Eats it!

....all together!

I made these by burning into some wood blocks I had lying around, then slicing, sanding, and glueing wine corks around the edge for a border. I hope she enjoys them. I had fun making them! I hadn’t done any pyroengraving since high school.

My mother also makes the most ridiculous peanut butter-chocolate chip-oatmeal cookie EVER. I call them devil cookies. I get mad at her when she makes them, because I can’t stop eating them. I’m not kidding, all self control is out the window. I’ve only made them in my own kitchen once for fear of their intense powers!

The original recipe, from a cute little recipe book my mom made me when I moved🙂

When I made them I subbed whole wheat pastry flour, used natural peanut butter, and dark chocolate chips. The recipe doesn’t say, but she usually adds either chocolate chips or m&m pieces. Sometimes Reese’s pb chips.

If you want to impress some friends at a party, bring these. People go crazy for them. Use with caution.

xo/ Nikita

About lacocinaencantada

I live, work, study, and of course cook in Portland. I find nature continuously inspiring and love verdant pacific northwest for its lush and wild charm. I love cooking, baking, drawing, painting, photography, running, yoga, and spending time with people I care about. I believe in eating real food: minimally processed, no weird additives, heavy on the fresh produce and whole grains. I also believe in eating delicious food. Healthy food should be creative, inspiring, and yes taste good! While I strive to make healthful recipes, I never sacrifice taste for "low cal" or "low fat." Everything in moderation is key! I hope to share some of my recipes and thoughts on food or heath issues here. Enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

